I want you

I want you to be the guy who comes up to me, who saw something in me that made him want to get to know me. I want you to be the guy with whom I’d be comfortable with since the day we first met. I want you to be the guy who talks to me, who opens himself up to me, like how he never opened up to anyone else. I want you to be the guy who trusts me, who knows he can be himself with me, and somehow makes me feel that I can be myself around him, too.

I want you to be the guy who asks me out, who overcomes that fear of rejection just to know if he has a chance. I want you to be the guy who’d think about the words he’d say and how he’d say it. I want you to be the guy who pursues me, who would be willing to do what it takes to be mine. I want you to be the guy who sends me flowers, who drives me home, who writes long handwritten letters because he knows I like them.

I want you to be the man who looks at me like no one else ever could. I want you to be the man who takes care of me when I’m sick, who calls when he misses me, who tries to make every moment special. I want you to be the man who remembers special dates and important people, because he knows those dates and those people matter to me. I want you to be the man who throws surprises for me, who talks to my friends and family and tries his very best to keep everything a secret. I want you to be the man who’s worried about my safety, who’s concerned about my welfare, and who always wants me to be happy.

I want you to be the man who fights with me, the way a married couple would fight, over the silliest things. I want you to be the man who would be upset with me, but could never stay mad. I want you to be the man who tells me what’s wrong with me, who calls me out on my mistakes and helps me become better. I want you to be the man who is patient with me, who forgives me, who never ends a day without making sure we’re okay. I want you to be the man who cooks with me, cleans the house with me, pays the bills with me, takes the kids to school with me, knowing that, whatever happens, we would always be a team, and that the two of us would always make sense.

I want you to be the man who grows old with me, who sees me slowly withering away and still loves me for it. I want you to be the man who sees my wrinkles, my fats, and my white hair and still thinks I’m the most beautiful girl in the world. I want you to be the man who takes me to the doctor, who knows I have to take my medications, and who scolds me when I’m stubborn. I want you to be the man with whom I’ll look back at life, always grateful that I chose him.

I want you to be the man who loves me, who tells me and makes me feel so every day, never making me forget. I want you to be the man who accepts me, who understands me, who knows my worsts and bests and embraces me for who I am. I want you to be the man I always want to go home to, the one I’d always look for, the man I want to be with for the rest of my life – that stubborn constant that my life would never be complete without.

I want you to be the man who loves me, just as I have always loved you.

Leave a Reply

